跳到内容
客户至上的 B2B 销售趋势 | 2022

欢迎来到 2022 年。关于如何在销售中取得成功的大多数传统智慧仍然具有重要价值。 但今天,掌握新想法和销售趋势也很重要,这些新想法和销售趋势正在改变顶级公司向客户销售的方式,尤其是在 B2B 领域。

客户至上的理念由来已久。 尽管许多组织都在谈论这个部门的出色游戏,但很少有人以有意义的方式将其付诸实践。

我们的经验表明,如果做得好,从“以卖家为中心”转变为“以客户为中心”的文化是增加收入的必经之路。

当前的销售状况继续朝着更具咨询性、关系驱动、客户至上的方向发展,这已经不是什么秘密了。 在这里,我们将深入探讨如何帮助您的组织实现这一转变并从中受益。 继续阅读以了解当今最重要的一些主要销售趋势。 您会注意到其中不止一些与以客户为中心的主题相关联。

改变游戏规则的 B2B 销售趋势

1. 利用人工智能促进销售

人工智能 (AI) 具有促进销售的巨大潜力,因为它能够通过大量数据来识别可操作的洞察力和对客户行为的预测,并推荐销售行动。 Salesforce的 报告称,其与麦肯锡全球研究所的研究发现,“传统销售职能中 40% 的任务现在可以自动化”,并且“随着技术的预计进步,特别是在自然语言处理方面,研究表明这可能会超过 50% 。”

2. 使用聊天机器人进行对话式客户体验

有许多统计数据表明聊天机器人是 B2B 组织的有效销售工具。 网络猎手 报告称,“79% 的消费者更喜欢使用实时聊天而不是其他模式,因为它可以提供即时响应。”

3. 结合人类和数字交互

确保您的聊天机器人功能包括人工备份,因为据报告 财务在线和麦肯锡 “高达 76% 的 B2B 买家发现,当他们想要购买全新的产品或服务时,与某人面对面或通过电话交谈很有帮助。”

4. 从 B2C 中吸取教训

“从客户与供应商互动的那一刻起,B2C 公司就掌握了提供定制建议的艺术”,潜在客户生成公司报告 合格. “当您登录 Netflix 或亚马逊时,系统会根据您的订单历史记录和浏览行为提供建议。 这使客户可以轻松找到相关产品,从而进行购买。” 今天,有一些自动化营销工具和策略——其中一些可能内置于您的客户关系管理 (CRM) 系统中——可以帮助 B2B 公司与客户建立更多的个人关系。

5. 提供个性化的客户体验

请记住,客户体验甚至在您与潜在客户交谈之前就开始了。 根据引用的统计数据 弹性路径:

72% 的 B2B 买家只参与个性化消息传递
69% 的 B2B 买家愿意为个性化体验支付更多费用
67%的B2B买家会提供个人信息以获得个性化服务

6. 使用自助知识门户

麦肯锡在一篇名为 “在 B2B 客户体验中找到正确的数字平衡,” 报告称,86% 的受访者表示,他们“更喜欢使用自助服务工具进行重新订购,而不是与销售代表交谈”,并且一些公司现在正在“提供自助指南或跟踪系统来解决问题。”

7.利用社交媒体获取销售洞察、潜在客户和建立关系

现在可以使用社交媒体平台与目标潜在客户建立关系。 除了潜在客户的产生和培育的可能性, Salesforce的 指出社交媒体可以帮助 B2B 组织“了解个人客户是谁、买家是谁、决策者是谁、影响者是谁以及谁拥有预算”等。

8. 通过数据分析获取价值

在整个商业世界中,公司正在生成更多自己的数据,并且可以更轻松地访问公开可用的数据,这些数据可以被提炼以产生可操作的业务洞察力。 使用您的 CRM 更好地利用您的数据是等式的一部分。 “福布斯” 提供了有关 B2B 公司如何使用“自助数据分析工具”获得显着收益的信息。

9. 使用网络研讨会作为潜在客户生成工具

制作一个思想领导力网络研讨会,旨在为您的公司专门研究的痛点类型提供解决方案,这可能是与当前和未来的 B2B 客户交谈的一种非常有效的方式。 由于它们还使您的听众有机会与您互动并直接提出问题,因此制作精良的网络研讨会可以作为宝贵的资源和销售工具。 在 “产生更多网络研讨会潜在客户的 5 种方法,” 业务增长服务提供商 Zoominfo 报告称:

  • 79% 的买家表示他们将分享信息以换取网络研讨会
  • 44% 的营销人员主持或参加了网络研讨会,87% 的营销人员认为这是一种有效的策略

10. 完全外包销售

等待。 什么? 好的,这可能还不适合许多公司,但是 Salesforce的 确定了一种颠覆性趋势,即自动化现在使第三方供应商能够“运行公司的整个销售流程……从需求产生到客户获取和履行。” 这些公司“使用大数据来识别潜在客户”,通过不同的优惠和不同的平台向目标细分市场进行营销,然后根据最佳转化几率“将自己的销售代表与个别客户相匹配”。

11. 强调客户成功

要做到这一点,您必须不仅仅只关注或主要关注自己的成功——即销售自己的产品和/或服务。 今天,必须真正专注于如何最好地帮助客户取得成功。 我们公司努力成为这一领域的潮流引领者。

12.优先考虑客户同理心

“哈佛商业评论” 鼓励公司“实施客户同理心”,其定义如下:“从本质上讲,客户同理心是识别客户情感需求、了解该需求背后的原因并有效和适当地响应的能力。” 同理心是采用以客户为中心的理念的核心。 对于一些 B2B 公司来说,这可能意味着使用所谓的 “移情地图” 更好地了解客户的动机。

相关文章: 建立以客户为中心的文化的 14 种方法 [以及它如何提高您的底线]

13. 从您的服务团队中获得销售价值

拥有现场服务团队的 B2B 公司应将您的服务专业人员视为未充分利用的资产,他们与客户的互动频率是您的销售团队的 10 倍。 配备时 高级客户关系建立技能,现场服务人员可以采用经过验证的策略,从故障修复方案转变为开发洞察力并采取更专注于整体客户成功的行动,最终赢得作为值得信赖的业务顾问的信誉。 不难想象以这种方式加强关键客户关系如何与销售机会相关联。

最近 TSIA(技术和服务行业协会)的调查回复揭示了与这一趋势相关的一些令人大开眼界的数据:

  • 69% 的受访者表示通过服务互动产生了销售线索。
  • 36% 的受访者表示他们的服务团队正在从事“勘探和管道生成”
  • 78% 的受访者在被问及:您是否聘请直接现场服务工程师参与交叉销售/追加销售计划?
  • 当被问及是否在现场服务工程师参与交叉销售/追加销售计划之前提供认证或培训时,46% 的受访者表示肯定。
  • 74% 的人报告说,他们的现场服务工程师现在“评估客户对产品的使用情况”并“征求有关所需改进的信息”。

14. 减少销售额

您可能还会看到以“停止销售”为特征的这种趋势。 当然,你肯定会继续销售。 这里的关键点——尤其是在与高级管理人员打交道为未来交易奠定基础时——是更多地关注建立关系的方式,而不是仅仅关注销售。

您可以通过整合此处讨论的许多其他趋势和策略来做到这一点——尤其是那些涉及积极倾听、同理心、个性化和更加强调建立您作为值得信赖的业务合作伙伴的关系而不仅仅是完成交易的那些。 可以在我们的网站上找到减少销售额的明智策略 Engaging Up™ 销售培训页面.

对细节感到好奇? 考虑观看这个简短的视频,了解投资于更高级别的销售培训如何帮助建立“值得信赖的合作伙伴”关系,从而为您和您的客户释放价值。

观看视频

网络研讨会系列:使用服务解锁新收入

深入了解与关键客户建立更有利可图的业务伙伴关系的艺术和科学
观看网络研讨会
带有图像证明的表格

Skip to content
B2B Sales Trends that Put the Customer First | 2022

Welcome to 2022. Most of the conventional wisdom about how to succeed in sales still has significant value. But today it is also essential to stay on top of new ideas and sales trends that are changing the way top companies sell to their customers, especially in the B2B world.

The concept of putting the customer first has been around for a long time. And while many organizations talk a great game in this department, far fewer are putting it into practice in a meaningful way.

Our experience shows that, when done well, moving from a “seller-focused” to a “customer-focused” culture is a surefire way to grow your top line.

It’s not a secret that the current state of sales continues to move in a more consultative, relationship-driven, customer-first direction. Here, we’ll dive deeper into how to help your organization make this shift and reap the benefits. Read on to examine some of the key sales trends that are front and center today. You’ll notice that more than a few of them connect back to the customer-focused theme.

Game-Changing B2B Sales Trends

1. Utilizing AI to Boost Sales

Artificial intelligence (AI) has great potential to boost sales due to its ability to churn through vast volumes of data to identify actionable insights and predictions of customer behavior, and recommend sales actions. Salesforce reports that its research with the McKinsey Global Institute found that “40% of tasks within the traditional sales function can now be automated,” and that “with projected advancements in technology, especially in natural language processing, the research suggests this could top 50%.”

2. Using Chatbots for Conversational Customer Experiences

There are many statistics that suggest chatbots are an effective sales tool for B2B organizations. NetHunt reports that “79% of consumers prefer to use live chat over other modes because it provides instant responses.”

3. Combining Human and Digital Interactions

Make sure your chatbot functionality includes human backup because, as reported by Finances Online and McKinsey “a whopping 76% of B2B buyers find it helpful to speak to someone in person or on the phone when they want to purchase a completely new product or service.”

4. Learning Lessons from B2C

“B2C companies have mastered the art of delivering customized recommendations from the moment a customer interacts” with a supplier, reports lead-generation firm Qualified. “When you log in to Netflix or Amazon, there are recommendations based on your order history and browsing behavior. This makes it easy for a customer to find relevant products, enabling them to make a purchase.” Today, there are automated marketing tools and strategies — some likely built in to your customer relationship management (CRM) system — that help B2B companies get more personal with clients.

5. Delivering Personalized Customer Experience

Remember that the customer experience starts even before you speak to a potential customer. According to statistics cited by Elastic Path:

72% of B2B buyers only engage with personalized messaging
69% of B2B buyers are willing to pay more for a personalized experience
67% of B2B buyers will provide personal information to get personal service

6. Using Self-Service Knowledge Portals

McKinsey promotes this B2B sales trend in an article titled “Finding the Right Digital Balance in B2B Customer Experience,” reporting that 86% of survey respondents said they “prefer using self-service tools for reordering, rather than talking to a sales representative” and that some companies are now “providing self-help guides or a tracking-and-tracing system for resolving issues.”

7. Tapping Social Media for Sales Insights, Lead Gen and Relationship Building

It is now possible to use social media platforms to develop relationships with targeted prospects. In addition to lead-generation and nurturing possibilities, Salesforce notes that social media can help B2B organizations “understand who the individual customer is, who the buyers are, who the decision-makers are, who the influencers are, and who owns the budget,” etc.

8. Capturing Value Through Data Analytics

Across the business world, companies are generating more data of their own, and also have easier access to publicly available data that can be distilled to yield actionable business insights. Using your CRM to take better advantage of your data is part of the equation. Forbes offers an informative look at how B2B companies can reap significant benefits using “self-service data analytics tools.”

9. Using Webinars as a Lead-Generation Tool

Producing a thought leadership webinar designed to offer solutions to exactly the type of pain points your company specializes in can be a highly effective way to literally speak to current and future B2B customers. Since they also give your audience the opportunity to interact with you and ask questions directly, well-produced webinars can serve as both valuable resources and sales tools. In “5 Ways to Generate More Webinar Leads,” business growth services provider Zoominfo reports that:

  • 79% of buyers say they will share information in exchange for webinars
  • 44% of marketers have hosted or participated in a webinar, and 87% of those found it to be an effective strategy

10. Outsourcing Sales Entirely

Wait. What? OK, this may not be a good fit for many companies just yet, but Salesforce identifies a disruptive trend in which automation now enables third-party vendors to “run a company’s entire sales process … all the way from demand generation to customer acquisition and fulfillment.” Such companies “use big data to identify leads,” market to target segments with different offers and different platforms, then “match their own sales reps to individual customers” based on optimal odds for conversion.

11. Emphasizing Customer Success

To do this, you must think beyond focusing solely or primarily on your own success — that is, on selling your own products and/or services. Today it is essential to truly focus on how you can best contribute to helping your customers achieve success. Our company strives to be a trend-setter in this arena.

12. Prioritizing Customer Empathy

Harvard Business Review encourages companies to “operationalize customer empathy,” which it defines as follows: “Essentially, customer empathy is the ability to identify a customer’s emotional need, understand the reasons behind that need, and respond to it effectively and appropriately.” Empathy is at the heart of adopting a customer-centric philosophy. For some B2B companies, this can mean using so-called “empathy maps” to better understand their customers’ motivations.

Related article: 14 Ways to Build a Customer-Centric Culture [and How it Can Boost Your Bottom Line]

13. Gaining Sales Value from Your Service Teams

B2B companies that have field service teams should look at your service professionals as underutilized assets who interact with customers 10 times more frequently than your sales team. When equipped with advanced customer relationship-building skills, field service personnel can employ proven strategies for moving from break-fix scenarios to developing insights and taking actions that are more focused on overall customer success, ultimately earning credibility as trusted business advisors. It is not hard to imagine how enhancing key customer relationships in this manner connects to sales opportunities.

Recent TSIA (Technology and Services Industry Association) survey responses reveal some eye-opening data related to this trend:

  • 69% of respondents report generating leads for sales from service interactions.
  • 36% responded that their service teams are engaged in “prospecting and pipeline generation”
  • 78% said yes when asked: Do you charter your direct field service engineers to participate in cross sell/up sell programs?
  • 46% responded affirmatively when asked if they provide certification or training before field service engineers participate in cross sell/up sell initiatives.
  • 74% reported that their field service engineers now “assess customer utilization of products” and “solicit information about desired enhancements.”

14. Making Sales Less Sales-y

You may also see this trend characterized by the words “stop selling.” Of course, you’re definitely going to keep selling. The key takeaway here — especially when dealing with senior-level executives to lay the groundwork for future deals — is to focus more on engaging in ways that build the relationship rather than just focusing on the sale.

You can do this by incorporating many of the other trends and strategies discussed here — especially those that involve active listening, empathy, personalization and stronger emphasis on building your relationship as a trusted business partner rather than just closing deals. Smart strategies for making sales less sales-y can be found at our Engaging Up™ sales training page.

Curious about the details? Consider watching this brief video about how investing in next-level sales training helps build “trusted partner” relationships that unlock value for you and your customers.

Watch the Video

Webinar Series: Use Service to Unlock New Revenue

Take a deep dive into the art and science of building more lucrative business partnerships with your key customers
Watch the Webinars
Form with Image Testimonial