跳到内容
现场服务培训:如何提高现场服务组织的效率

现场服务技术人员和工程师的客户服务培训

您的现场服务人员是否发现自己处于高风险境地?

通过目标技能领域的现场服务培训,大多数公司可以显着提高首次修复率和修复速度,使客户免于不必要的灾难,并能够更好地发现新的升级和销售机会。

现场服务具有内在的但往往未被发掘的价值。 无论您的行业或全球位置如何,现场服务专业人员都代表着您的企业和客户尚未开发的潜力。 问题? 服务工程师通常不被视为公司的增值部门,这导致他们在整体上缺乏投资 现场服务培训.

在我们走得更远之前,了解现场服务培训必须不仅仅是具体细节、硬件和软件或工作流程和物流,这一点至关重要。 最佳现场服务培训始于人际交往能力、客户互动以及真正倾听痛点和业务中断。 这条线的训练就是我们所说的 现场服务关系培训,并且在付诸实践时,它已被证明可以提高客户满意度、销售额和现场服务产品的整体有效性。

____________________________________________________________________________

现场服务技术人员和工程师的客户服务培训:两种计划形式选项

通过 GPT 培训计划,您可以获得最大的灵活性。 对于我们行业领先的每个客户关系培训计划,您都可以在两种强大的互补形式之间进行选择——混合或虚拟。

两种形式的核心知识和技能组成部分是相同的,课程通过以下方式提供: 由经验丰富的辅导员(现场和/或虚拟)领导的现场培训; 自定进度的电子学习模块; 同伴辅导和可选的个人辅导课程; 以及针对实际公司挑战和机遇量身定制的个性化项目工作和角色扮演练习。

1. 混合格式

我们久经考验的混合培训计划包括面对面和虚拟部分,以建立具有改变您业务潜力的下一代客户关系技能的令人印象深刻的记录而著称。 这种格式的显着特点:

  • 您的团队成员与讲师和同学“在房间里”
  • 随着条件的变化,可以灵活地从混合模式切换到全虚拟模式
  • 全天沉浸
了解更多+

2.虚拟格式

寻求完全虚拟培训选项的公司将希望探索我们的 100% 虚拟格式。 虚拟课程使用交互式讲师指导的网络研讨会和自助式电子学习模块,引导参与者沿着平行的知识和技能轨道进行令人兴奋的学习之旅。 显着特点包括:

  • 提高虚拟沟通技巧
  • 最短的出场时间
  • 潜在的成本节约
  • 班级人数较少
  • 方便
了解更多+


_______________________________________________________________

什么是现场服务团队的客户服务培训?

现场服务培训是使现场服务工程师和团队成员能够帮助客户和公司从现场服务和客户关系中获得更多价值的过程。 但是技术培训是不够的。 考虑到服务人员需要与客户互动的方式,他们接受客户关系培训也同样重要。

技术培训与客户关系培训

传统的现场服务培训模式具有单轨思维,非常关注现场服务工程师工作的技术方面——设备、软件、硬件、工具等。

然而,随着现场服务领域的发展以及行业领导者看到了该业务分支的价值,现场服务培训现已发展出第二个重点:客户关系培训。 为了提高效率并实现企业期望从现场服务中获得的积极成果——增加收入、提高客户满意度、减少返工和增加成本——现场服务团队成员需要学习如何培养和充分利用他们的一线关系顾客。

完整的现场服务培训需要技术培训并建立在客户互动的基础上。 通过以社交互动和工程师与客户关系为重点的适当指导,客户关系培训通过以下方式帮助支持和改进技术培训:

  1. 帮助工程师从被动响应客户请求、问题和问题转变为积极主动地预测他人的需求并采取行动解决这些问题。
  2. 将重点从对客户和供应商清晰可见的技术问题转移到识别和解决尚不那么容易看到的问题和问题通常会阻止人们完全和永久地解决问题。
  3. 授权技术人员从为客户做事和屈服于不合理的要求,到与客户协同工作以达成平衡各方利益的解决方案。

相关阅读:见我们的 前瞻性公司的 8 大重要现场服务趋势

为什么客户服务培训对现场技术人员和工程师很重要?

现场服务培训有一个主要目标,但有许多潜在的积极成果。 把它想象成一个金字塔——有一个主要的最终目标,以及许多支持最终目标的次要结果,同时也改进了业务的其他领域。

现场服务培训应该首先推动您的现场服务产品的有效性。 现场服务技术人员有很多机会来发现有关您的客户的真实见解并为他们找到价值。

科技服务业协会研究 表示服务人员每月平均在客户面前出现超过 70 次——在一个拥有 100 名现场服务技术人员的组织中,每月总计有 7,000 次机会。 这种与客户面对面交流的时间是培养信任、了解客户痛点的真正见解并利用这些联系为您的企业和客户建立积极关系的绝佳机会。

那么,利用这些关系会产生什么好处呢? 以下是公司观察到的一些重要成果,它们可能是推动现场服务组织转型的主要驱动力。

  1. 提高收入
    提高现场服务人员的客户关系技能将使他们能够创造新的收入机会。 他们新获得的客户关系技能帮助他们建立更信任的关系和协作,以帮助客户实现他们最期望的业务成果,并通过交叉销售、追加销售、升级、服务合同和扩展为他们的公司实现新的收入。
  2. 减少服务和零件赠品
    供应商经常通过赠送服务或免费提供备件来弥补客户服务不佳或弥补自身绩效问题。 但有时供应商只是屈服于要求苛刻的客户,因为他们不知道如何进行公开讨论并取得平衡的结果。 专注于关系的现场服务培训使供应商能够抵制不合理的客户需求,找到对供应商和客户都有效的解决方案,并保持积极的前瞻性关系。
  3. 减少故障排除所花费的时间和资源
    想想供应商在解决问题时使用的资源。 由于问题需要更长的时间才能解决,因此它们通常需要只有少数人(通常是最昂贵的人)才能获得的高级知识。 同样,随着问题的升级,高级管理人员也会参与进来,很快情况就会从可控转变为失控的火灾。 接受过客户关系培训的现场服务工程师有能力在问题失控之前将其降级,并且可能会通过更好的沟通来防止此类问题再次发生。
  4. 提高生产力
    简化生产力的一种方法是简化和加快内部流程。 例如,新产品安装需要在供应商组织内以及与客户之间仔细协调许多职能。 通过主动与所有这些参与新安装的“内部客户”会面,并询问“我们在您所在地区可以做得更好吗?” 然后将他们的反应纳入计划,公司可以将新安装时间减少数周,每次安装节省数十万美元——仅对供应商而言。

现场服务团队的有效客户服务培训是什么样的?

A 优质的现场服务产品 已经从被动模型转变为主动模型。 为了实施这种文化变革并帮助您的服务团队转型,可能需要对现场服务培训进行投资。 但是,普通的培训计划或软技能产品并未嵌入真正改变现场技术人员执行工作方式所需的人际关系技巧。 有效的现场服务工程师培训具有一些独特的特征,可确保项目成功。

  1. 在训练中使用角色扮演
    就像学习驾驶飞机一样,没有人可以在不付诸实践的情况下学习新的人际交往技能。 现场服务技术人员培训应始终结合不同客户服务场景的角色扮演,最好基于现实生活场景。 这有助于技术人员在开始在现场使用新技能之前,在安全的环境中观察、练习并获得有关新技能的反馈。
  2. 根据您的行业和公司定制培训
    现场服务工程师在医疗保健行业的互动可能与电信领域的互动大不相同。 因此,角色扮演和案例研究也应该直接适用于他们在工作中面临的独特情况。 这种定制更具吸引力,有助于参与者学习和保留更多信息。
  3. 工程师和支持团队的整体培训
    花时间培训所有在现场工作并支持现场服务工程师计划的人。 强调“内部”和“外部”客户、主管、经理、产品代表和服务销售团队都可以从现场服务和客户关系培训中受益。 如果这些团队不支持现场服务工程师,您的公司将无法从强大的现场服务培训计划中获得全部好处。 这些计划代表了整个公司的文化转变,因此广泛的支持对其成功至关重要。
  4. 嵌入教学法
    如果要实现真正的行为改变和业务成果,现场服务工程师培训不能成为为期一天的礼堂研讨会。 要创造文化变革,您需要改变服务组织内大量关键人员的日常技能和行为。 这需要:

    • 一个长期的嵌入过程,包括多轮行动计划的创建和实施。
    • 后续指导和支持计划,以帮助提高技能采用率。
    • 对培训进度的评估,衡量技能在该领域的应用情况,以及计算组织实际结果的衡量系统。

这种培训方法的一个主要好处是能够不断地将培训付诸实践、衡量结果并相应地调整培训。 如果工程师难以实施某个概念,则可能需要更多时间。 如果一种策略对您的客户特别有效,那么它应该得到更多的重视。

客户服务培训对现场服务团队的好处

只有当现场服务工程师和技术人员真正采用并付诸实践时,现场服务和客户关系培训才能成功。 在成功采用新工具和策略后,这些是您的团队将从现场服务培训中受益的一些最大方式。

了解客户的大局

众所周知,客户需要专注于帮助他们实现更大业务成果的供应商。 为了做到这一点,您需要知道这些结果是什么。 你需要 了解客户的全局.

作为一个组织,您的客户想要实现什么? 降低成本? 提高生产率? 增加增长? 变得更有竞争力? 也许他们同时关注其中几个领域。 关键是,如果您了解客户想要达到的目标,您就可以开始在对他们最重要的领域为客户寻找价值。

举一个供应商服务经理的例子,他真正了解了他的客户,并利用这些洞察力提供卓越的服务。 服务经理知道他的客户保持行业领导地位的战略的一个关键因素是采用最新的先进技术。 然而,客户在实施该技术时遇到了困难,因为其自己的工程师不了解新技术并且没有在内部沟通他们缺乏知识。

服务经理对这项技术的了解远比他的客户多,在了解了客户的困境后,他实施了一项计划。 服务经理主动填补客户的知识空白,提供客户缺乏的知识和专业知识。

结果,客户大大缩短了全面实施新技术所需的时间。 然后,该客户利用他们新的尖端技术敏锐度赢回了价值数亿美元的重要业务份额。 这导致供应商的新技术在全球范围内得到进一步采用。

了解客户试图实现的目标(他们的大局)的现场服务工程师和经理能够预测客户在实现目标时将面临的挑战。 然后,他们可以采取积极措施来应对客户的挑战,为日常问题提供解决方案,并填补客户的知识空白。

发现客户的真正问题

在处理客户请求时,您的现场服务工程师是否花时间了解问题? 不仅仅是技术问题,还有真正的根本原因? 说明这个概念的一个简单方法是用冰山。 在冰山的顶端,在水线之上,我们会遇到很容易看到的与技术相关的问题。 然而,在冰山底部,在吃水线的深处,通常存在更难发现的更大问题。

一位客户的机器技术人员正在努力进行一些基本的预防性维护。 他缺乏执行任务所需的知识和技能,但拒绝承认自己的局限性。 这导致客户将责任归咎于机器供应商,从而使问题升级。

机器供应商的技术支持工程师没有采取防御措施,而是应用主动倾听技术找出问题的根本原因,包括客户的水线以下不确定性。 技术支持工程师随后建议他协助进行一些预防性维护,让客户的机器技术人员完成他认为有足够信心执行的任务。 该方法将设备停机时间减少了 60 小时,将升级时间减少了 10 小时,并保留了与机器技术人员的关系。

现场服务人员非常擅长解决技术性、水线以上的问题。 然而,低于水线需要与客户沟通的不同技能。 现场服务人员需要与客户建立同理心,首先要承认客户的个人问题和心态。 有时客户自己甚至没有意识到这些问题。 可能存在个人问题或组织障碍。 通过发现和解决真正的客户问题,解决方案可以更快、更清晰地到达。

想出取悦客户的方法

您的客户对您的现场服务人员有何期望? 快速响应时间和解决他们提出的问题浮现在脑海中。 您的客户希望您做好这些事情。 这些是您的竞争对手也可能做得很好的事情类型。 事实上,如果你没有做好这些事情,你最终会得到不满意的客户。

但是现场服务处于一个完美的位置,可以通过寻找取悦客户的方法来使您的组织脱颖而出。 通过积极主动并识别这些类型的机会——例如为设备操作员创建一份备忘单或设置一个提醒器以定期致电客户以检查绩效——您将开始领先于竞争对手并建立可信赖的业务合作伙伴关系与客户。 了解客户的大局并发现他们的真正问题将使您更容易找到这些类型的机会。

有时,仅仅弄清楚如何解决问题就可以让客户感到他们的服务提供商更重视他们。 在一个例子中,客户和服务供应商在日常维护期间遇到了交接问题。 问题有时是由客户引起的,有时是由供应商引起的,有时是由两者引起的。 供应商不是仅仅满足客户的基本要求,而是使用在现场服务培训中学到的分析工具来识别在日常维护交接过程中造成的错误,无论这些错误是谁制造的。

然后,供应商修复交接,以便他可以验证所有交接都没有错误,从而显着增加客户的产量,减少客户和供应商的返工和时间损失。 此外,本地服务团队的行动导致发现了价值超过 100 万美元的新收入机会。

现场服务工程师培训是思维和行为的彻底转变。 如果您致力于实现这三个转变——从被动到主动,从纯技术问题转变为实际需求,从做客户要求的任何事情到实现平衡的结果——您将看到与客户的互动发生变化并最终得到改善提高整个现场服务组织的效率。

现场技术人员和工程师的客户服务培训的投资回报率是多少?

通过您的服务组织增加收入和利润需要您的员工从根本上转变他们的思维和行为。 在文化上进行如此重大的改变,同时建立新的技能和行为,需要大量的投资。 对于任何投资,您都想知道该投资的回报是多少,以及如何计算。 虽然这些计划的一些好处似乎是无形的,但 现场服务培训的投资回报率 是真实的和可衡量的。

公司经常发现,改善客户关系的投资与提高利润、客户满意度和忠诚度直接相关。 在现场服务工程师培训后报告收入增加和成本节约的典型领域包括:

  • 新的收入机会
  • 提高生产力/时间/带宽
  • 增加设备正常运行时间
  • 节省客户维修成本
  • 总时间节省(供应商和客户)

听案例研究访谈: 成为以客户为中心:现场服务机会

开始现场服务和客户关系培训计划是一项投资——时间、金钱和人员。 当您准备好进行投资时,我们希望您 联系全球合作伙伴培训.

我们的团队将帮助您为现场服务培训计划计算合理的投资回报率,并帮助您更好地了解可以在哪些方面进行有利可图的改变。 作为该过程的一部分,GPT 全球网络的促进者和客户关系成功专家将评估您当前和未来的需求,概述目标,并定制符合您愿景的计划。

常见问题解答:现场技术人员和工程师的客户服务培训

什么是现场服务培训?

现场服务培训是教育和提高现场服务工程师、技术人员和其他团队成员技能的过程,以便在现场更好地为客户提供帮助。 为了最有效,技术培训需要与客户关系培训相结合。

现场服务培训对客户服务有哪些好处?

通过有效的客户服务培训,现场技术人员将能够:

  • 纵观大局并预见客户的挑战
  • 采取积极措施应对客户的挑战
  • 更有效地发现和解决客户的问题
  • 更快、更清晰地找到解决方案
  • 培养更满意的客户并全面提高效率

如何有效衡量客户服务培训的成功与否?

虽然识别和跟踪您的现场服务关键绩效指标很重要,但积极主动的公司会更加关注客户最重要的 KPI。 了解客户最重要的 KPI 是什么,并弄清楚如何帮助他们实现这些,从长远来看,您可以增加更多的价值。 有关发展这种以客户为中心的重要性的更多信息,请参阅我们的博客文章 新的现场服务 KPI:您在优化客户关系方面做得如何?

现场服务培训需要多长时间才能开始显示结果?

为现场服务工程师精心设计的培训计划将坚持参与者立即开始与现场客户练习/使用他们的新技能,并在培训计划本身期间取得积极成果。 中期案例报告显示在几周内产生重大影响并不少见,而最终案例报告通常记录的回报超过了培训总成本。 注重嵌入现场服务技能(即把它们变成习惯)的计划将产生经常性回报,无需额外成本。

哪种现场服务工程师培训形式更有效——虚拟形式还是混合形式?

两种格式都不比另一种“更好”,相似之处远多于不同之处。 通常,适合贵公司或部门的最佳计划和培训模式取决于您的总体目标、培训人群、日程安排偏好和其他独特因素。 我们建议您同时阅读 混合训练虚拟培训 页面,欢迎您 立即联系 所以我们可以帮助您为您的团队选择最好的项目和形式。

 

 

网络研讨会系列:使用服务解锁新收入

深入了解与关键客户建立更有利可图的业务伙伴关系的艺术和科学
观看网络研讨会
带有图像证明的表格

Skip to content
Field Service Training: How to Improve the Effectiveness of Your Field Service Organization

There is inherent, yet often uncaptured, value in field service. No matter the industry, the country, or the business, field service professionals represent untapped potential for both businesses and their customers. The problem? Service engineers aren’t seen as a value-added branch of a company, which results in an overall lack of investment in their field service training.

Before we go any further, it’s critical to understand that field service training must be about so much more than nuts and bolts, hardware and software, or workflows and logistics. Optimal field service training starts with interpersonal skills, customer interaction, and truly listening to pain points and business disruptions. This line of training is what we call field service relationship training, and when put into practice, it has been proven to improve customer satisfaction, sales, and the overall effectiveness of your field service offerings.

THE MOVE TO FIELD SERVICE TRAINING: Which Training Format is Right for Your Organization?  >>

What is Field Service Training?

Field service training is a process for enabling field service engineers and team members to help customers and companies get more value out of field service and customer relationships. But technical training is not enough. Given the ways that service people need to interact with customers, it is just as important, if not more so, that they also receive customer relationship training.

Technical Training vs. Customer Relationship Training
Traditional field service training models have had a one-track mind, sharply focused on the technical aspects of a field service engineer’s job – the equipment, software, hardware, tools, etc.

However, as the field service field has grown and leaders in the industry have seen the value in this branch of business, field service training has now developed a second focus, customer relationship training. To be more effective and achieve the positive outcomes businesses expect from field service – improved revenues, higher customer satisfaction, reduced rework, and higher savings – field service team members need to learn how to nurture and make the most of their front-line relationships with customers.

Complete field service training takes technical training and builds upon the customer interaction. With proper instruction that focuses on social interactions and engineer-to-customer relations, customer relationship training helps support and improve upon technical training by:

    1. Helping engineers shift from being reactive in responding to customer requests, issues and problems, to being proactive by anticipating the needs of others and taking action to address them.
    1. Shifting the focus from technical problems that are clearly visible to the customer and the supplier, to identifying and addressing problems and issues that are not so easily seen yet are often those that prevent people from fixing problems completely and permanently.
    1. Empowering technicians to go from doing things for the customer and occasionally giving in to unreasonable demands, to working collaboratively with the customer to reach solutions that balance the interests of all sides.

Why is Field Service Training Important?

Field service training has one primary goal, but many potential positive outcomes. Think of it like a pyramid — there is one primary, ultimate goal, and many secondary results that support the end goal while also improving other areas of the business.

Field service training should first and foremost drive the effectiveness of your field service offerings. Field service technicians have many opportunities to uncover real insights about your customers and find value for them.

Technology Services Industry Association research indicates that service people are in front of their customers an average of over 70 times per month — in an organization with 100 field service technicians, that adds up 7,000 opportunities every month. This amount of facetime with customers is a great opportunity to foster trust, learn real insights about customer pain points, and leverage these connections into positive relationships for your business and your customers.

So what benefits emerge when these relationships are leveraged? Here are some important outcomes that companies have observed and that may be primary drivers behind your push to transform your field service organization.

    1. Improved Revenues
      Improving the customer relationship skills of your field service people will enable them to generate new revenue opportunities. Their newly acquired customer relationship skills help them cultivate more trustful relationships and collaborate to help customers achieve their most desired business outcomes, and also achieve new revenues for their company via cross-sells, up-sells, upgrades, service contracts and extensions.
    1. Reduced Service and Parts Giveaway
      Suppliers often compensate for poor customer service or make up for problems in their own performance by giving away service or providing spare parts for free. But sometimes the supplier is simply giving in to demanding customers because they don’t know how to have an open discussion and achieve a balanced outcome. Field service training that focuses on relationships enables suppliers to push back on unreasonable customer demands, reach solutions that work for both the supplier and customer, and maintain positive forward-looking relationships.
    1. Reduced Time and Resources Spent on Troubleshooting
      Think of the resources used by suppliers in troubleshooting problems. As problems take longer to resolve, they often require advanced knowledge available only from a small number of people (who are typically the most expensive). Likewise, senior managers become involved as the problem escalates, and very quickly the situation moves from being manageable to an out-of-control fire. Field service engineers who have been through customer relationship training have the skills to de-escalate problems before they get out of hand, and will likely prevent such problems from recurring simply through better communication.
    1. Improved Productivity
      One way to streamline productivity is by simplifying and speeding up internal processes. For example, a new product installation requires careful coordination of many functions within the supplier organization as well as with the customer. By proactively meeting with all of these “internal customers” involved in a new installation, asking, “What could we do better in your area?” and then working their responses into the plan, a company can reduce its new installation time by weeks, saving hundreds of thousands of dollars per installation — just for the supplier. 

What Does Effective Field Service Training Look Like?

A quality field service offering has shifted from a reactive model to a proactive model. To enact this culture change and help your service team transform, an investment in field service training is likely in order. But run-of-the-mill training programs or soft skills offerings do not embed the interpersonal relationship skills required to truly transform how your field technicians perform their jobs. Good field service engineer training possesses a few unique qualities that help ensure program success.

    1. Use of role-playing during training
      Like learning to fly an airplane, no one can learn new interpersonal skills without putting them into practice. Field service technician training should always incorporate role-playing of different customer service scenarios, preferably based on real-life scenarios. This helps technicians observe, practice, and get feedback on their new skills in a safe environment before they begin to use them in the field.
    1. Customized training based on your industry and company
      A field service engineer’s interactions in the healthcare industry will likely be quite different from those in the world of telecommunications. Therefore, the role plays and case studies should also be directly applicable to the unique situations they face in their jobs. Such customization is more engaging and helps participants learn and retain more information.
    1. Holistic training for engineers and support teams
      Invest the time to train everyone who works around and supports the initiatives of the field service engineers as well. Supervisors, managers, product reps, and the service sales team can all benefit from field service and customer relationship training. If these teams aren’t supporting the field service engineers, your company is not going to get the full benefit of a robust field service training program. These programs represent a company-wide cultural shift, so widespread buy-in is imperative to its success.
    1. Measured and refined approach to instruction
      If you want to achieve real business results, field service engineer training can’t be a one-day auditorium seminar. To create cultural change, you need to change the day-to-day skills and behaviors of a critical mass of individuals within your service organization. This requires:

      • A long-term embedding process that includes multiple rounds of action plan creation and implementation.
      • A follow-up coaching and support program to help improve skills adoption.
      • An assessment of training progress, which measures how well skills are being applied in the field, which leads to a measurable result for the organization.

One major benefit of this training method is the ability to continually put the training into practice, measure the results, and adjust training accordingly. If one concept is hard for engineers to implement, perhaps more time is needed on it. If one strategy is particularly effective with your customers, then it should receive more emphasis.

Benefits of Field Service Training

Field service and customer relationship training is only successful when it’s truly adopted and put into practice by field service engineers and technicians. After successful adoption of new tools and strategies, these are some of the biggest ways your team will benefit from field service training.

Understand Your Customer’s Big Picture
As we know, customers want suppliers who are focused on helping them achieve their larger business outcomes. And in order to do this, you need to know what these outcomes are. You need to understand your customer’s big picture.

What is your customer trying to achieve as an organization? Reduce costs? Increase productivity? Increase growth? Become more competitive? Maybe they are focusing on a couple of these areas at the same time. The point is, if you understand what your customer is trying to achieve, you can begin finding value for customers in the areas that matter most to them.

Take this example from a supplier service manager who got to truly know his customer and used those insights to deliver exceptional service. The service manager knew that a key factor in his customer’s strategy for maintaining industry leadership was to adopt the latest advanced technology. However, the customer was struggling to implement the technology because its own engineers didn’t understand the new technology and weren’t communicating internally about their lack of knowledge.

The service manager knew far more about this technology than his customer did, and after learning about the customer’s struggles, he implemented a plan. The service manager proactively filled the customer’s knowledge gaps and provided the knowledge and expertise that the customer lacked.

As a result, the customer significantly shortened the time needed to fully implement the new technology. The customer then used their new cutting-edge technology acumen to win back a significant share of business worth hundreds of millions of dollars. This led to further adoption of the supplier’s new technology worldwide.

Field service engineers and managers who understand what their customers are trying to achieve — their Big Picture — are able to anticipate the challenges their customers will have reaching their goals. They can then take proactive steps to address their customer’s challenges, provide solutions for day-to-day problems, and fill in knowledge gaps that customers have.

Uncover Your Customers’ Real Problems
When dealing with a customer request, do your field service engineers take time to understand the problem? Not just the technical issues, but the real, root cause(s)? An easy way to illustrate this concept is with an iceberg. At the top of the iceberg, above the waterline, we experience the technical-related issues that we can easily see. However, at the bottom of the iceberg, deep under the waterline, there are typically bigger problems that are harder to uncover.

A machine tech for a customer was struggling to do some basic preventative maintenance. He lacked the knowledge and skill required to perform the task but refused to admit his own limitations. This caused the customer to blame the machine supplier, which escalated the problem.

Instead of becoming defensive, the machine supplier’s technical support engineer applied active listening techniques to get to the root cause of the issue, including the customer’s below-the-waterline uncertainties. The tech support engineer then recommended that he assist with some elements of the preventative maintenance, leaving the customer’s machine tech to do the tasks that he felt confident enough to perform. The approach reduced the downtime on the equipment by 60 hours, reduced the escalation time by 10 hours and preserved the relationship with the machine tech.

Field service people are highly skilled at addressing the technical, above-the-waterline problems. Getting below the waterline, however, requires different skills in communicating with customers. Field service people need to create empathy with customers, beginning with acknowledging the customer’s personal issues and state of mind. Sometimes customers themselves aren’t even aware of these problems. There could be a personal issue or an organizational barrier. By discovering and addressing real customer problems, solutions arrive faster and with more clarity.

Come Up With Ways to Delight Your Customer
What are your customers’ expectations of your field service people? Fast response times and solving their stated problems come to mind. Your customers expect you to do these things well. These are the types of things your competitors may also do well. And in fact, if you don’t do these things well, you end up with dissatisfied customers.

But field service is in a perfect position to differentiate your organization by looking for ways to delight your customers. By being proactive and identifying these types of opportunities — such as creating a cheat sheet for an equipment operator or placing a tickler to call the customer periodically to check on performance — you’ll begin to pull ahead of your competitors and build trusted business partner relationships with customers. Understanding your customer’s big picture and uncovering their real problems will enable you to more easily find these types of opportunities.

Sometimes just figuring out how to fix an issue can make a customer feel more valued by their service provider. In one instance, a customer and service supplier were experiencing problems with hand-offs during routine maintenance. Problems were sometimes caused by the customer, sometimes by the supplier, and sometimes by both. Rather than meet the customer’s basic requirements only, the supplier used an analysis tool learned during field service training to identify errors caused during handoffs in routine maintenance, regardless of who made them.

The supplier then fixed the handoffs so that he could verify that all handoffs were error free, resulting in substantial increases in output for the customer and reduced rework and lost time for the customer and supplier. In addition, the actions of the local service team led to the identification of new revenue opportunities valued at more than $100k.

Field service engineer training is a complete transformation in thinking and behavior. If you commit to making these three shifts — from reactive to proactive, getting from technical-only problems to real needs, and from doing whatever the customer asks to achieving balanced outcomes — you will see a change in your interactions with customers and ultimately an improvement in the effectiveness of your entire field service organization.

What Is the ROI for Field Service Training?

Increasing revenue and profit through your service organization requires your people to shift their thinking and behavior in fundamental ways. Making such a substantial change in culture, while simultaneously establishing new skills and behaviors, requires a sizable investment. And with any investment, you want to know what the return on that investment will be, and how it will be calculated. While some of the benefits of these programs seem intangible, the ROI of field service training is real and measurable.

What companies often find is that the investment in improving customer relationships connects directly to improved profits, customer satisfaction, and loyalty. Typical areas where increased revenues and cost savings are reported after field service engineer training include:

  • New revenue opportunities
  • Improvements in productivity/time/bandwidth
  • Increased equipment uptime
  • Customer cost savings on repairs
  • Overall time savings (for supplier and customer)

Beginning a field service and customer relationship training program is an investment – of time, of money, and of people. When you’re ready to make that investment, we hope you’ll reach out to Global Partners Training.

Our team will help you calculate a reasonable ROI for your field service training program and help you get a better understanding of where profitable changes can be made. As part of the process, the GPT worldwide network of facilitators and customer relationship success experts will assess your current and future needs, outline objectives, and customize a plan to match your vision.

2 Format Options for Your Training Program

You get the ultimate in flexibility with GPT training programs. For each of our industry-leading customer relationship training programs, you can choose between two robust, complementary formats — blended or virtual.

Core knowledge and skill components are the same across both formats, and programs are delivered via: live training led by experienced facilitators (onsite and/or virtual); self-paced e-learning modules; peer coaching and optional individual coaching sessions; and individualized project work and role-play exercises tailored to real company challenges and opportunities.

 

Blended Format

Distinguished by an impressive track record of building next-generation customer relationship skills that hold the potential to transform your business, our time-tested blended training programs include both face-to-face and virtual components. Notable features of this format: Your team members are “in the room” with the instructor and fellow students. Full-day immersion. Flexibility to shift from blended mode to full virtual mode as conditions change.

LEARN MORE+

Virtual Format

Companies seeking fully virtual training options will want to explore our 100% virtual format. Virtual programs use interactive instructor-led webinars and self-service e-learning modules to lead participants on an exciting learning journey down parallel knowledge and skill tracks. Notable features: Smaller class sizes. Minimal time out of the field. Improved virtual communication skills. Convenience. Potential cost savings.

LEARN MORE+